Finland 2010 5€ Satakunta

FIN 2010 - 12

New product

5 euro commemorative coin dedicated to the Satakunta region, from the series Historical Provinces of Finland.


More details

9,50 €

Data sheet

Year 2010
Face value 5 euro
Metal Cu/Ni
Weight 8,5 g
Diameter 25 ,75 mm
Quality Uncirculated
Mintage 90.000
Designer Nora Tapper
Serie Provincial Coin

More info

The provincial coins series reflect tones of everyday life in Finland’s historical provinces.

Satakunta is one of nine historical provinces in Finland.

Obverse side of the Satakunta coin depicts the making of bobbin lace, also known as pillow lace. The bobbin lace tradition, which dates back hundreds of years, is still alive and well in Satakunta, especially during Rauma Lace Week in summer. Bobbin lace has been made in Finland since the Middle Ages. Since few luxury items were available, homemade lace was used to decorate costumes.

On the reverse side of the coin there is the historical province´s coat of arms and the face value, 5 EURO.

There are nine historical provinces in Finland: Åland, Tavastia, Karelia, Lapland, Ostrobothnia, Satakunta, Savo, Uusimaa and Finland Proper.