Finland 2011 5€ Tavastia - Historical Provinces

FIN 2011 - 02

New product

5 euro commemorative coin dedicated to the Tavastia region, from the series Historical Provinces of Finland.


More details

9,50 €

Data sheet

Year 2011
Face value 5 euro
Metal Cu/Ni
Weight 9,8 g
Diameter 27,25 mm
Quality Uncirculated
Mintage 100.000
Designer Nora Tapper
Serie Provincial Coin

More info

The provincial coins series reflect tones of everyday life in Finland’s historical provinces.

Tavastia is one of nine historical provinces in Finland.

On the reverse side of the coin there is the historical province's coat of arms and the face value, 5 EURO.

In the Middle Ages, the historical province of Tavastia was a large territory. In addition to the current Tavastian counties, it included e.g. most of Central Finland, southern Pirkanmaa and northern Kymenlaakso.

The coin for the Provincial coin series is a hunter's coin as it depicts the old Tavastian hunting tradition.

There are nine historical provinces in Finland: Åland, Tavastia, Karelia, Lapland, Ostrobothnia, Satakunta, Savo, Uusimaa and Finland Proper.