Finland 2013 5€ Tavastia: Häme

FIN 2013 - 10

New product

5 euro commemorative coin dedicated to Tavastia, from the series Provincial Buildings.


More details

9,00 €

Data sheet

Year 2013
Face value 5 euro
Metal Cu/Ni
Weight 9,8 g
Diameter 27,25 mm
Quality Uncirculated
Mintage 55.000
Designer Nora Tapper and Petri Neuvonen
Serie Provincial Buildings

More info

The Provincial Buildings coin series depicts prominent buildings from each of the nine provinces of Finland.

Tavastia is one of nine historical provinces in Finland.

On the reverse side of the coin there is the historical province's coat of arms and the face value, 5 EURO.

This coin depicts a place where the people of Häme have congregated for more than a millennium. The medieval stone Church of St. Lawrence in Janakkala was consecrated in 1520, but the people of Häme had been using the location for worship and gatherings for centuries before that.

A clear sacrificial spring from pagan days still bubbles by the church hill.

There are nine historical provinces in Finland: Åland, Tavastia, Karelia, Lapland, Ostrobothnia, Satakunta, Savo, Uusimaa and Finland Proper.