Finland 2020 2€ Turku University

New product

2 euro commemorative coin dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the University of Turku.

More details

7,00 €

Data sheet

Year 2020
Face value 2 euro
Metal Cu/Ni
Weight 8,5 g
Diameter 25 ,75 mm
Quality Uncirculated
Mintage 800.000

More info

The University of Turku, located in southwestern Finland, is the third largest university in the country as measured by student enrollment. It was established in 1920 and also has facilities at Rauma, Pori, Kevo and Salo. The university is a member of the Coimbra Group.

The University of Turku is the first university in the world to operate in Finnish only. It was founded in 1920 on donations; the necessary funding was provided over a period of three years by 22,040 donors.

The skilfully designed commemorative coin features a grid-like web symbolizing the interaction between universities and society.